Most schools in Houston area are organized in three levels - Pre-Kindergarten through 5th grade (elementary), 6th - 8th grade (middle/junior high) and 9th - 12th grade (senior high). Instruction at all levels is largely regulated by state requirements. State law restricts class sizes for grades 4 and under to a maximum of 22 students per teacher. Several standardized aptitude and achievement tests are administered to students at different ages.

The Harris County area includes 24 school districts that offer public education to many incorporated and unincorporated communities.

The Harris County Dept. of Education maintains a library of specific information about each of these districts.

Brazoria County School Districts

Chambers County School Districts

Fort Bend County School Districts

Galveston County School Districts

Harris County School Districts

Liberty County School Districts

Montgomery County School Districts

Waller County School Districts

Texas Education Agency

Helpful Links
Houston Doctors
Houston Area Real Estate

© 1998- - Houston-Texas-Online

All information is deemed reliable, but is not
guaranteed and should be independently verified.

Information on this web site may not be copied for any
commercial use without written permission from Houston-Texas-Online